The answer to this question depends on the state in which the minor was convicted. In some states, minors’ records are automatically expunged after a certain amount of time, while in others, they are not. However, even in states where minors’ records are not automatically expunged, they may still be eligible for expungement if they meet certain criteria.
In Minnesota, minors’ records are not automatically expunged. However, they may be eligible for expungement if they meet the following criteria:
-The minor must be at least 18 years old.
-The offense must have been committed when the minor was 17 years old or younger.
-The offense must not have been a felony.
-The offense must not have been a crime of violence, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 624.712, subdivision 5.
-The offense must not have been a sexual offense, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 609.341, subdivision 10.
-The offense must not have been a controlled substance offense for which registration is required under Minnesota Statutes 152.021, subdivision 4.
-The offender must not have been placed on probation for any other offense within the past three years.
-The offender must not have been convicted of any other offense within the past three years.
If the offender meets all of the above criteria, they may petition the court for expungement. The court will then decide whether or not to grant the expungement.
It should be noted that even if an offender’s record is expunged, it is not completely erased. Rather, it is sealed and can only be accessed in limited circumstances, such as by a potential employer conducting a background check. Additionally, the expungement does not relieve the offender of any sex offender registration requirements that may apply.
If you are a minor who has been charged with a crime, it is important to speak with an experienced expungement attorney to discuss your options and the possibility of having your record expunged.